Nov 28, 2023  
2014-2015 Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Catalog 
2014-2015 Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Affairs

The faculties of the University are organized into eight academic colleges: The B. I. Moody III College of Business Administration, the Ray P. Authement College of Sciences, and the Colleges of The Arts, Education, Engineering, General Studies, Liberal Arts, and Nursing and Allied Health Professions. The deans of these colleges are responsible to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for the administration of the academic programs sponsored by their faculties and the conduct of other activities to accomplish the mission of the institution. The Academic Affairs area includes a number of support units, the University Honors Program for undergraduates and the University Art Museum. The Graduate School is administratively located under Academic Affairs and the Graduate Dean reports to the Provost.

The Graduate School

The Graduate School supports a variety of programs leading to master’s and doctoral degrees, as well as selected certifications. Eligibility for admission is determined by the Dean, who acts within the framework established by the University of Louisiana Board of Supervisors and the University’s Graduate Council. The University offers master’s and doctoral programs in the areas listed below.

Graduate Degrees

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette grants the following degrees:

  1. Master of Architecture.
  2. Master of Arts, with a major in English, French, or history.
  3. Master of Arts in Teaching, with a major in elementary education and special education, mild/moderate, grades 1-5 or secondary education and special education, mild/moderate, grades 6-12.
  4. Master of Business Administration; Master of Business Administration/Health Care Administration joint option; Certificate in Health Care Administration.
  5. Master of Education, with a major in curriculum and instruction, gifted education or educational leadership; Certificate in Non-Public Schools: Administration.
  6. Master of Music.
  7. Master of Science, with a major in biology, communication, computer engineering, computer science, engineering, geology, mathematics, nursing, physics, psychology, or speech pathology and audiology.
  8. Doctor of Education with a major in educational leadership.
  9. Doctor of Philosophy, with a major in applied language and speech sciences, environmental and evolutionary biology, computer engineering, computer science, English, Francophone Studies, mathematics, or systems engineering.


  1. Policies of the Graduate School are determined by the Graduate Council, subject to approval of the President of the University and within the framework authorized by the University of Louisiana Board of Supervisors. These policies are administered by the Dean of the Graduate School.
  2. Some undergraduate academic regulations are also applicable to graduate students.

EEOC Compliance

The Director of Operational Review and EEOC Officer has jurisdiction over the review process for recommended personnel changes in order to verify EEOC compliance. The EEO Officer reports to the Provost on EEO matters.